Merry Christmas — And Screw Political Correctness

Okay, call me a nouveau cynic, but over the years I’ve learned that Christmas isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

The stress, the arguments, never having enough money to get what you really want to get people, or even any idea of what to get them, waiting in endless lines….. it’s definitely not the Merry Christmas you see on tv.

We, as a country, seem to have lost the meaning of Christmas.  We’ve forgotten to look at the joy on a child’s face when the tree lights up or he sees Santa for the first time.  Nobody goes out for a ride with their kids to oooh and aaaah at the light displays.  No one goes downtown any more to see the animated store displays…..if any stores even do that anymore.  We’ve even forgotten why we celebrate Christmas in the first place.

It’s all come down to political correctness.  It’s no longer “Merry Christmas”, it’s “Happy Holidays”.  I’m sorry, but it’s STILL Christmas and no one can tell me otherwise.  I even say Happy Chanukkah ( or Hanukkah) to my Jewish friends.

This year I learned that more and more people feel the same way I do.  And the truly weird part was, I learned it in a Wal-Mart of all places!  The cashier actually said Merry Christmas to me and was floored when I said it back to her.  LOL

I heard it a lot this year.  More, in fact, than I have in a long time.  Maybe there is hope for us all.  Maybe political correctness is dying a slow death….finally.

Screw political correctness.   There are still people in the world who know how to say it like it is.  And I’m proud to be one of them.

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in My Little Soapbox. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Merry Christmas — And Screw Political Correctness

  1. Joy says:

    Amen. We are so worried about offending people that we are losing our sense of individual identity. I don’t think anyone should be intentionally derogatory, but Merry Christmas doesn’t hurt anyone.

    • Thank you. I agree with you. As a country, we seem to be letting our fear of offending others get in the way of common sense. When did we become so sensitive that we can’t say what we mean to people?

      I also agree, no one should be intentionally derogatory. That’s rude and uncalled for. But a simple Merry Christmas, Happy Thanksgiving, Happy Kwanzaa or whatever, shouldn’t be taken away from us.

      Thank you for your comment. I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

