Freedom of Speech or Inciting to Hate?

From “The New Colossus” by Emma Lazarus in 1883:

” . . . . Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

My conservative acquaintances are not too happy with Rush Limbaugh these days.  Like the ex-governor of Alaska, he’s managed to put his foot in his mouth and insult not just a foreign nation but millions of people in our own country.

Freedom of speech is a good thing, but Limbaugh’s racism is evident and goes beyond the idea of freedom of speech.  He has forgotten that this country was founded by immigrants…..Plymouth Rock wasn’t landed on by “Americans” or anybody remotely resembling them!

My husband was a devout “Rushy” and I had to listen to the man’s ravings in the ’90’s, every day he was on.  He hasn’t changed.  If anything, Limbaugh has become even worse and more bigoted in his beliefs.  He doesn’t learn from his mistakes. Nor do many of the people who are devoted to him and hang on his every word.

I have to admit that I have listened to Limbaugh and have occasionally agreed with him.  Not often, mind you, but a few times in the 10 years I had to listen to him.  But I also learned that he was a bigot, hypocrite and a hater of all things that didn’t match up to what he wanted or believed in.  My husband, thank God, eventually wised up and figured out that the man is a bigot and a drug addict.  And that ended his love affair with Limbaugh.

This so-called conservative is doing nothing more than inciting hatred and bigotry.  These types of “conservatives” cause more harm than they do good.  That is evident by the violence that each, Limbaugh and Palin, has caused to occur.

I know, I know…you can’t blame them for what other people do.  However, when some people hear this crap day after day, year after year…..hate “liberals”, hate anyone who doesn’t think like “we” do….. you have to expect bad things to happen.

If Limbaugh would have his way, we’d all think like him and act like him.  Personally, I prefer to think for myself and not have someone tell me what I should think, how I should act, what I should do, and how I should vote.

I prefer to keep an open mind. I prefer not to be a bigot…..unless it’s against really stupid people. I prefer to show respect and kindness to people hoping that, just maybe, it’ll be passed along.

But above all, I prefer to be an American of Hungarian ancestry who is capable of living by the ideals this country was founded on and by what Ms. Lazarus said.

If we insist on hating and letting people promote hatred and bigotry, we will go the way of the dodo and the dinosaur.  And that goes against everything our founding fathers put in the Constitution and Bill of Rights.

Yes I believe in freedom of speech otherwise none of us would be able to post our blogs and have them read.  But common sense  has to enter into it somewhere. Especially when it incites people to hurt other people.  To me, that is just wrong in every sense of the word.

If anyone would like to see Sen. Yee’s site, sign his petition to boycott Limbaugh’s sponsors, and hear Limbaugh’s rant for themselves, I have the website below.

https://services.myngp.com/ngponlineservices/petition.aspx?X=E3VFBux7g+8%3D&m=lyee

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in My Little Soapbox, Political Anachronisms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

