John Glenn….A Short Tribute

I was 4 years old when Astronaut John Glenn orbited the earth.  And I’ve been addicted to anything concerning space ever since.

Yes,  I know I was too young to remember him orbiting the earth 3 times personally, but when I was a little older and in school I read all about it and saw the film clips that were made at the time.  My family and I watched every space launch from that time on.   To me, John Glenn and the rest of the Mercury and Apollo astronauts were real live hero’s.

Today, I read an article about John Glenn.  In the comments section was an extremely negative political comment about Mr. Glenn.  It’s a true shame that there are people out there who can only remember the negative things about people.  Especially legendary people.

What happened occurred 24 years ago.  No charges were brought and he was cleared of any wrongdoing.    Therefore, it’s a NON-ISSUE.

The man needs to be remembered for his heroism and not something that came to nothing.  He not only defied the odds, in his first space flight, by circling the earth 3 times and landing safely, but he defied them again when he went up in the space shuttle at the age of 77.  The first man ever to do so.  He is a true American hero.

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

