Internet Television And SOPA

For a law that didn’t pass, SOPA (Stop Online Piracy Act) is certainly cutting back on my online viewing time.

Most of us avid internet nuts have certain sites that we like to go to so that we can watch, and catch up on, certain tv shows and sports events. Personally, I’m a sucker for classic Dr. Who reruns.

However, during the last 2 weeks I’ve noticed that 2 or 3 sites that I favor have been shut down by the FBI for illegal content. Also, many of the regular tv shows I watch have been removed from the sites I visit. I was under the impression that SOPA didn’t pass.

Evidently I was wrong. Or was I? According to all the government sites I’ve looked at, it’s not been passed. So why are the FBI and Homeland Security suddenly shutting down all kinds of sites and removing content?

Because they, with extremely broad latitude, have decided that these sites and tv shows are “illegal” by SOPA definition. To a point, I will agree.  Certainly one of them wasn’t totally on the up and up.  But the law did NOT pass. It was not enacted so how do the powers that be justify what they are doing?

I’m not a lawyer, so I have no clue.

The newest rumor is that on March 15 (oddly enough the Shakespearean “Ides of March”), the FBI is going to shut down the internet completely. Or Mark Zuckerburg is….depending on how you look at it and which rumor you believe.

For the sake of this country as a whole, I hope this doesn’t happen…… a government body enacting a law that ISN’T a law.  Because if it does, we’re throwing the Constitution this country was founded on, and our basic freedoms, right out the door. Then, God help us all.

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Internet Television And SOPA

  1. Keelan Foley says:

    Its funny how American Media is always condemning China and Iran’s censorship of the web.

Leave a Reply

