Who Put Religion in My Politics?

I’m serious.  Who put religion in my politics?  And why did they feel the need to do it?

The last thing I want to hear about from a presidential candidate, or any candidate for that matter, is his religion.   And him, or her, trying to shove it down my throat by legislating my morality or my reproduction…..or lack thereof.  Can we at least run on REAL issues and not a personal agenda?

In 1960 John F. Kennedy proved everyone wrong when he got elected.  All the pundits said a Catholic president would NEVER be elected.  Amazingly, he won and by a pretty healthy margin.  That put the religion doomsayers to bed and we’ve pretty much kept religion out of politics…..until this election.

And these people, I hesitate to call them candidates, have done nothing but whine about God and how He wants them to do this or that, spreading their collective messages of hate and despair.

Get over yourselves.  God, most likely, doesn’t give a rat’s you-know-what about politics in this country.  And He certainly isn’t about women’s reproduction and keeping people subjugated for any reason.  These men need to quit translating the Bible to suit their own tastes and agendas.

I’m relatively simple when it comes to what I want in a political candidate.  I think most people are.  It’s not very hard to figure out that what we have running now is NOT what this country needs.

I want a candidate capable of running this country responsibly…..and not into the ground.

I want a candidate with solid ideas as to how to fix the problems……not one blowing hot air just to get elected or to hear his own voice.

I want a candidate that is not interested in his own agenda but the agenda the country needs to take it forward, not backwards.

I want a candidate that shows respect not only to his fellow candidates but to men, women, children and the world……..not someone who badmouths everyone and everything thinking it’s “cool” to do it or as a way to advance his own career.

I want a candidate who isn’t going to set women back 150 years because he’s stupid enough to think this will garner him votes…….. totally forgetting that women make up 51% of the voting population.

I want a candidate that isn’t derogatory, mean, nasty, hypocritical or just plain dense as a post about reality and what it means to live in this country as a working middle-class human being.

In short, I want a relatively sane, intelligent, reasonable, business savvy candidate, certainly not the bunch of mouthy loony tunes we have running now.

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in Current Events, From the Sublime to the Ridiculous......., Humor my way, My Little Soapbox, Politics 101 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

