Fear and Loathing vs. Fact and Progress…….

Over the course of the last 2 weeks I’ve been in a discussion…..I use that word loosely……..with a person of the male GOP persuasion. It’s been rather enlightening, to say the least.

I’ve learned that even intelligent people can be duped.  I’ve also learned that no amount of facts, proof and evidence can make a person think when all they want to do is keep holding on to their beliefs, and lies they’ve been told, so their belief system, and hate, doesn’t crumble around them.  I’ve learned that hate is all-consuming and clouds judgement, common sense and compassion.

I’ve been told that proven facts, and the evidence to back it up, are lies. I’ve been told that reputable websites, science journals, and encyclopedias are wrong about pretty much everything.  I’ve been told I’m stupid for believing in the truth and the evidence that’s been provided by half a dozen or more valid sources.  I’ve been shown that opinion, and the ensuing insults, is more important that actual proven facts.   And all of this saddens me.

It saddens me that people believe lies when the truth is there in front of their eyes.  It saddens me that some people have such closed minds that no amount of facts and proof will make even a small dent in their little world.  That hate of anyone or anything different is a reason to belittle and insult others.  And that sickens me.

I asked him to cite facts, places to find the facts, anything to back up his opinion.  The only place he cited was the Wall Street Journal, an editorial on climate change, a 200 year dead philosopher and a dead economist whose theories have been proven wrong since he wrote about them in the 1970’s.  I told him that the editorial wasn’t fact.   It was an editor’s opinion.  He never said anything and changed the subject.  Again, show me a fact.  Back up what you say with solid evidence.  Give me a reason to change my mind.  He gave me nothing.

He tried to tell me that he’d taken a government class online a few months ago and knew how the system worked.  He then told me that “King” Obama set the budget and he was the one cutting his Social Security and Medicare, not to mention Medicaid and food stamps.  I had to laugh.  For having taken a government class he certainly didn’t know how the system works.  I pointed out that, Constitutionally, the president suggests a budget and Congress has to approve it or not.  And that the GOP had suggested the budget he was referring to.   I could hear him scrabbling on the keyboard to find out if I was right or not.  Needless to say, he never brought that subject up again.

He named a dead philosopher and a dead economist to back his opinion up.  I cited a quote from the dead economist and he told me I was insane and the man never said it.  The problem with that is, I took it directly from an article the economist wrote and gave the citation for it.  But I didn’t know what I was talking about.

In the end, I got angry.  (I still am)  Lol  not a big surprise after 2 weeks of being told I was wrong and that I was stupid for believing the way I did and that my facts from reputable sources were all bullshit.   I lost my cool and told him he’d drunk the GOP kool-aid down to the last drop.  That he’d cherry picked my arguments to try and argue them with me.  When he couldn’t produce a fact he’d drop the argument and cherry pick something else to argue about.  He never stayed on subject.  He ignored it all and changed the subject.

This is supposed to be the 21st Century, not the 18th.  We are supposed to be smarter than we were.  Less able to be duped.  Adept at the sciences and liberal arts.  No longer into hatred of others because of skin color or religion.   Willing and able to take care of those less fortunate than ourselves without a qualm.  Taking care of our seniors with respect.  Educating all children through college without putting them in debt for the rest of their lives.  Wars should be a thing of the past, not a daily fear.  Greed should be morally outlawed and not allowed to happen.  We should be feeding children and the elderly not letting them starve.  We should not be letting our veteran’s live on the streets.  Equality for everyone…………as a society we have failed at all of it.  And now I understand why.

People like this guy who blindly follow, never question and drink the GOP kool-aid.  They are the good old boys who still live in the ’80’s and can’t let it, or their hatreds go.  These are the people who teach the next generation to hate.  These are the people who want to keep people ignorant so they don’t question and follow blindly…….more kool-aid drinkers.

Fear and greed.  We are a country that lives in fear. Fear of everything.  Dogmatic fear that is being bolstered by the media and the fear mongers in both parties.  Fear that the government will take everything away from you, fear of losing your savings, fear of losing your health, fear of the guy/girl standing next to you, fear of people smarter than you or different from you, fear of losing your job…. the abject fear of everything.  And it’s being shoveled down our throats every day in the media and by the politicians.  And it seems that most of the GOP followers are lapping up that fear and are thriving on it.  Fear of education and intelligence.   And they hate the rest of us that don’t live and thrive on the fear.

And they truly hate and fear us because we don’t share in their fear.  We don’t buy into the ignorance they believe in.

They fear us because we don’t share their greed.  We don’t want to bail out any more banks who already make a huge profit off the working man and woman and didn’t need our money to “bail them out” in the first place.  We’re tired of trillions of American dollars being hidden in off-shore accounts so the billionaires and corporations can avoid paying taxes that the rest of us are subject to.  We’re tired of wars costing thousands of lives and trillions of dollars.  And we’re tired of corporations getting all the tax breaks while the rest of us shoulder the burden and the middle-class tax breaks are disappearing.

It’s delusion fueled fear.

Those of us who aren’t afraid want the education.  Want the intelligence.  Want to explore.  Want accountability from our representatives and CEO’s.  Want new and innovative ideas to help the economy and the people.  Want a world without war.  We want a world without hate.  We want to live in peace and equality.  Want to live without the insane fears that are being fostered.

We don’t want the same old 1980’s GOP good ol’ boys lack of solutions, lack of innovation and abject fear. loathing and ignorance.

We want a better world and the closed minds of this country aren’t going to give it to us without a fight.

 

 

 

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in Current Events, Fear and Loathing, Freedom, My Little Soapbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fear and Loathing vs. Fact and Progress…….

  1. Irv Oslin says:

    Yeah, still waiting for an answer to my question about how the media, owned and controlled by conservative interests, could possibly project a liberal bias.

Leave a Reply

