Voting is a Right AND a Privilage……

Why is it that the people who scream the loudest about how bad everything is are the people who don’t vote?

If you don’t vote, don’t bitch.

If you haven’t got the guts to back up your opinion with a vote, shut up.

Backstory…….my husband and I were taking a walk one day many, many years ago and he was railing about the politicians running at that time. We hadn’t been married very long and were still learning each others political views.

He was a Republican and I was a Democrat with heavy Independent leanings and all I could do was listen and quietly laugh to myself at some of his rantings.

After a couple of miles, I couldn’t take any more and I asked when he registered to vote. He stopped dead in his tracks and looked at me like I was crazy. Then, I asked him when was the last time he voted.

He told me he wasn’t registered to vote; that he’d never voted and had no intention of registering to vote.

For a second all I could do was look at him.  I’d been raised to treat voting as a necessity.  Something you had to do as a responsible citizen and to keep your rights from being taken from you.

Then I got angry.  I looked at him and told him he had zero right to complain about anything if he wasn’t willing to take a stand and vote for what he believed in.  I told him I didn’t care if he voted a straight party ticket or voted his conscience or his gut.  But, until he registered to vote and actually voted, I didn’t want to hear another word about politics or politicians come out of his mouth.  He had zero right to complain if he wasn’t willing to vote his opinion where his mouth was.

Oddly enough, by the next election, he was registered to vote and voted in every election after that.

This is how I look at the loudmouths today who bitch about everything political.  If you don’t vote, you have no one to blame but yourself.  So shut up.  You thought your vote wouldn’t matter and didn’t go to the polls to vote, shut up and keep your opinion to yourself.

History teaches us that if you don’t vote you lose what you have.  And, yes, one vote CAN make a difference.  Certainly does when you add up all those “one” votes.

Put your loud mouth and your loud opinions to work.  Vote or shut the hell up.

 

 

 

 

 

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in Current Events, Freedom, Media, My Little Soapbox, Not So Current Events, Political Anachronisms, Politics 101, United States and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Voting is a Right AND a Privilage……

Leave a Reply

