Job Loss is a Thing of Joy…….

I lost my job last Friday.

No, it’s not a bad thing. In reality, it was a blessing.

I’ve spent the last 2 years and 9 months working for a person who didn’t pay his taxes, avoided paying many of his vendors, a person I had to lie for to people who called in and demanded payment for services rendered, back taxes and lawsuits, and who, periodically, couldn’t pay his workers. ( I haven’t had a paycheck in 4 weeks)

Why did I stay? I really have no clue. Probably a misguided sense of loyalty or just being too lazy to find another job. Still not sure about that! lol

Just a little background whining……….The last 3 months I wasn’t allowed to reconcile any bank statements, enter any repair orders, enter any income, or do a lot of the things an office manager does. All I could basically do was answer phones, schedule and rent out U-hauls (which I despised and which was sporadic), run errands, pass out the occasional band-aid and try to do payroll. The last month I wasn’t even allowed to put in bills.

Yep, it was a mess.

When I asked for office supplies, I was told I’d have to wait, we couldn’t afford it. Ok. I could see that. After all, I could check one out of 2 bank accounts and I knew money was tight. But I couldn’t file paperwork without file folders, right?

What does he ask me to do the last day? You got it. File the paperwork I haven’t been able to file for 3 months. When he asked my why, I told him I needed 3 boxes of file folders in order to start filing the new year’s vendors bills and to finish filing everything else. He walked out of my office in a huff. Later that afternoon, he said he was closing the business.

I knew it was coming. It just happened a month sooner than I thought. He tells me a certain person who is a good friend of his has bought the building (it was up for auction 3 weeks previously) and that his friend was going to use it for his business. Ok. Good.

Then he told me that the head shop guy was going to keep the shop open and run it as his own business.  Good again.  He told me how he hadn’t made a house payment in 3 months so he could pay us…. Not so good.

Then, he also told me that he was going to declare bankruptcy……..which I thought was better late than never. In my humble opinion he should have done that and a business reorganization over a year ago.

But, what do I know? I’m only the office geek. Not the owner.

Ah well. Enough complaining. It’s a joy to be out of there. I’m getting things done that I haven’t had time to do and I feel like the weight of the world has been lifted off my shoulders. I don’t have to worry about IF I’m going to get a paycheck. I don’t have to lie for my boss about where he is or when he’s going to pay people. I don’t have to take messages from the Feds, City and State about back taxes, liens and court dates. I don’t have to hear banks and loan companies threaten about past due amounts and lawsuits.

I AM FREE OF THE IS CRAP!!

Now, if I could just get my last 4 paychecks I’d be a happy girl.

 

 

(But I am wondering how much of what he told me is pure crap!  I’ll update when I find out)

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in Employment, Freedom, General Insanity, My Little Soapbox, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Job Loss is a Thing of Joy…….

  1. Wow that is insane. How could a business be run like that? Not paid for four weeks? And no he’s bankrupt and can’t even pay you? Good for you finally getting out of there.

Leave a Reply

