Cancer…….the First Chemo Treatment

March 31,2017……….

I have to say that I have the best kids and friends. As a support group, I couldn’t ask for any better group of people.

Tuesday I had my first chemotherapy treatment.  I needed some mild sedation because I am absolutely petrified of needles.  The fact that they’re putting one in my forearm just makes it even creepier.  4 different bags of fluid.  Two are the poisons they’re going to use to get rid of any stray cancer cells.  One is a steroid and I’ve forgotten what the other one is.

They call it “chemo brain” and the infamous “they” aren’t kidding.  You have trouble thinking, trouble remembering simple things.  It’s like living in a fog bank.

So, I get chemo done every 3 weeks for the next 2 months and believe me when I say I am NOT looking forward to it.

The first day after the chemo I felt fine. Even the second day wasn’t too bad. Third day, however, is another story.

Day 3 has been strange. I have no energy, no motivation, I feel like I could sleep standing up after sleeping 10 hours last night.

And it’s continued for 3 weeks.  I’m constantly tired.  No motivation.  When I do something I need to sit down and rest for an hour afterwards.

I know it will be over at the end of May but that’s a long, long time to be out of it.

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

