Cancer…….The Second Chemo Treatment……..

It’s been exactly one week since my second chemo treatment.

The exhaustion came on a lot faster this time.  I got one good day instead of 2.

The second week of the first chemo I lost most of my hair.  That was frightening.  Pulling out hanks of hair when I brushed my hair out of my face or ran my hand through my hair and came away with 60 or more attached to my fingers is enough to unsettle anyone.  Within 6 days, I lost 90% of the hair on my head.

The nurses and doctors were totally surprised when they saw me.  They were unbelieving that my hair went in the first treatment and so much was gone.

And me, being the odd duck that I am, saved all the hair in a baggie.  Well, at least as much as I could.  It falls out when I’m walking, sleeping, or just brushing what’s left on my head.  It’s weird seeing my scalp through what’s left of my hair.

The “tired” is worse.  The lack of motivation is worse.  I shake a lot and I’m still in a fog.  I can truthfully say I DESPISE chemo brain.  I’m not too fond of the exhaustion either.

The exhaustion has gotten worse.  I walk 10 feet and feel like I’ve walked 10 miles.  It’s just tiring.  The heart doctor I saw this week….did I forget to mention that the poison I’m on (i.e. chemotherapy) would do a bad number on my heart?…..anyway, he wants me to walk a half an hour a day.  It was all I could do not to laugh in his face.  I barely made it from the car to the inside of the hospital for the monthly echo let along walk a half an hour a day.

I understand the reasoning.  I understand the principle.  But I just can’t do it right now.  And, having a chemo patient in his care, he should know this.

Through all of this, and what’s coming,I know that, in the long run, I will come out of this healthy and better for it.

I’ll start walking then.

About avlanchlovngirl

I believe that we are here for a reason. We just don't know what it is. I believe there are no borders or color differentiations. We're all the same under the skin and we all want the same basic things. I hate injustice and tend to take a stand against what I feel is unfair and just plain wrong. So, read on and comment if you'd like. Happy New Year!
This entry was posted in doctors, Fear and Loathing, My Little Soapbox, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

